Old Jokes Don’t Die, They Just Find New Butts

Being laid up, I’ve been bingeing on old episodes of Inside the Actors Studio and just heard Paul Newman tell a wonderful political joke. He referenced someone who is now retired so I’ll update it.

Donald Trump is on the campaign trail in New Hampshire when a freakishly early snowstorm causes his limo to slide into a ditch. While waiting for the auto club a VW Microbus pulls up and offers him a ride. He accepts.

The driver is a rabbi, with a Hindu yoga master for company. Ten miles down the road the VW Microbus breaks down in front of a farm. All three pile out and knock on the farmer’s door for help.

“I’d love to be of assistance but I can’t do anything about your vehicle until morning,” the farmer says. “You’re all welcome to spend the night although I only have two guest beds in the house. Someone will have to sleep in the barn.”

The yoga master volunteers.

Five minutes later there is a knock on the farmer’s front door. It’s the yoga master. “I’m sorry but I can’t sleep in the barn. There is a cow there and they are sacred to my religion.”

The rabbi immediately agrees to trade accommodations but five minutes after he departs for the barn there is another knock on the farmer’s door. Of course it’s the rabbi. “Sadly I can’t sleep in the barn either,” he explains. “There is a pig there and they are taboo to my religion.”

“Oh alright,” Donald Trump says. “I’ll sleep in the barn.”

Five minutes later there is another knock on the farmer’s door. It’s the pig.

One thought on “Old Jokes Don’t Die, They Just Find New Butts

In the spirit of Pat Benatar, hit me with your best shot.

